Dan

What is the best bit of your course?

I really love being on placement. I've made new friends and worked with so many people there, it's a good reminder why I signed up for the course.

What has been the biggest challenge so far?

Time management. I need to balance study, practical work with having a life!

How do you cope with money?

I don't have time for a part-time job during term time because uni work and placements keep me busy enough. I generally do care work during the holidays to earn some extra cash and use my student support to pay for the rest.

Where do you live?

I share a house with three other students. We all met in halls during the first year. It was quite difficult adapting to their habits but we've drawn up a cleaning rota and it seems to work. It's not perfect harmony all the time but its fine!

Where will you be in ten years?

I hope to be working in a hospital, hopefully in Cardiff.

What do you wish you had known when you started university?

I had no idea how to cook when I started at uni. This wasn't such a plem in the first year because I could eat in the halls canteen however, since living in my own place, I've had to learn quickly. It helps that I live with other people and we share the cooking.

Top budgeting tip

If you are living in shared accommodation, take it in turns to cook. This will save you time and money and it's much more sociable than eating on your own.

Dan's Summary

Income
NHS Bursary £6700
Savings £200
Term-time work £0
Holiday work £1344
Family and friends £1400
Total Income £9644
Expenditure
Insurance £120
Accommodation £3900
Utilities £646.50
Transport £916
Shopping £624
Socialising £1260
Eating £1820
Study £336
Total Expenditure £9552.50
Balance £21.50