Ashley

What is the best bit of your course?

I enjoy all aspects of the course but I guess the best part of studying law in Durham is having access to the law library. It's really beautiful and calm and I love going there to study without being distracted.

What has been the biggest challenge so far?

Because I was living at home with my parents, I found it really difficult to make new friends to begin with. Often friendship groups form in halls of residence. I eventually settled in by getting a job on campus and met people by joining clubs and societies.

How do you cope with money?

I have a part-time job during term time, which helps supplement my loan and grant. It's not been easy as there are so many things to spend your money on like going out and of course books.

Where do you live?

I live at home with my parents in Durham. Thankfully, I don't have to pay any rent and most of my meals are cooked for me!

Where will you be in ten years?

I hope to become a criminal lawyer but my ideas may change as I continue with my studies.

What do you wish you had known when you started university?

I wish that I had known that I could buy a lot of my books second-hand from other students. I spent a fortune buying all the books on the reading list. Then I saw lots of posters on campus from other students who were selling off the same books second-hand and for a fraction of the cost.

Top budgeting tip

Take advantage of discount vouchers! A quick Google search reveals loads of websites offering massive discounts on eating out and shopping in general. It's really worth seeing what's out there as you can save so much money.

Ashley's Summary

Income
Tuition Fee loan £3290
Maintenance loan £2802
Maintenance grant £517
Bursaries & further support £0
Savings £500
Termtime work £1792
Holiday work £1120
Family and friends £0
Total Income £10021
Expenditure
Fees £3290
Insurance £0
Accommodation £0
Utilities £300
Transport £595
Shopping £2080
Socialising £1764
Eating £1560
study £503
Total Expenditure £10092
Balance £–71